Menu

Strictly East

poetry news for the far East Bay

Special Events

 September 2022 

Please note links are not live. You must copy and paste them into your browser.

September 10:

Join Modesto Poet Laureate Salvatore Salerno at Davis Community Park, 2701 College Avenue in Modesto, CA at 8:00 a.m. PT on September 10, 2022 for Saturday in the Park with Poetry. Bring a favorite book of poetry or two and share some of your favorite poems with other poetry aficionados. You can also bring poetry books to donate or trade.

Meet at the picnic tables near the parking lot. In case the tables are occupied, please also bring a lawn chair, and we’ll gather elsewhere.

 

September 17:  outdoors by the lake...

 

 

 

September 18:

 

Benicia Herald’s “Going the Distance” columns published in book form, now available:

Yearning To Breathe Free—A Community Journal of 2020

 

Readings and community conversations coming up on Zoom

Sunday, September 18  3-5 p.m. Pacific Time

Sunday, October 16  3-5 p.m. Pacific Time

 

Zoom link at Library website  https://benicialibrary.org/poet/events

or email  poetlaureatebenicia@gmail.com for link.

 

Yearning To Breathe Free is the collection of “Going the Distance columns that ran in the Benicia Herald from April 1 through Election Day 2020.  Published by Benicia Literary Arts, the book is now available for purchase from the BLA website, benicialiteraryarts.org/ store/product/17 and at Bookshop Benicia, and can be borrowed from the Benicia Public Library.

September 27:

Poetic License Sonoma - Topic: “Equinox” with special guest poet, Sandra Anfang

from $5.00

September 27, 2022; 7-8pm (PDT); 9-10PM (CDT), 10-11pm (EDT) via ZOOM

Presenting poets: Kusum Irene Jain, Joseph Cutler, Susanne Arrhenius, Leo McCloskey, Steve Trenam, Judith Vaughn, Jaime Zukowski

 

for tickets to this zoom event, go to:

https://www.sebarts.org/classes-lectures/poetic-license-sonoma-music-with-special-guest-poet-sandra-anfang